Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

机器翻译服务

机器翻译(MT)即使用计算机和软件自动生成翻译。争论机器翻译是否已达到了人类相同水平并无意义。事实上,该技术已经发展到了一定阶段,在适当情况下,可以将其视为一种有价财富和强大工具。

Trusted Translations 拥有专门的团队,致力于实施机器翻译(MT)解决方案。我们的团队掌握了前沿 MT 技术,并且了解如何将 MT 解决方案与其他翻译工具与人工译后编辑及后续审校服务相结合。我们对最新的 MT 技术的好处与不足有着充分了解,因此我们能够判断某些特定情况下是否适合采用 MT 解决方案。

我们的专家可以作为顾问对特定客户、领域及项目范畴进行评估,判断 MT 解决方案是否适用。在完成样本测试等一系列步骤后,一旦客户与我们的专家均确定某一 MT 解决方案有效,我们的团队将立即开始着手设计正确的工作流与技术用于后续实施。上述初步投入极有必要,可在确保客户 ROI 最大化的同时实现满足最终用户需求的最高质量输出。

针对需要频繁处理大量内容的高价值常规客户,我们的团队将对各个阶段施行进一步分析,确保提供最优的 MT 服务。其中也包括进行中长期分析,从而确保可在每个实施阶段达成客户的目标。也就是说,在不同阶段可能需要运用不同的工具来实现译文一致性和可靠性的最大化。例如,早期阶段可能需要更多的人工翻译来训练引擎,而后期阶段可以使用更简单的质量控制(QC)流程(如通过专门的术语检查或进行拼写与语法检查)进行管理。

神经机器翻译

MT 解决方案此前一直以两种基本但不同的模型为基础:基于规则的模型与统计学模型。MT 的发展遵循逻辑路径。最初,新兴计算语言学领域的专家认为语法规则是运用语料库进行工作的基础。数年后,统计数据与统计学模型逐步兴起。之后,上述两种理念进行了融合,产生了混合(基于规则的统计学)模型。

小幅渐进式改良则体现了报酬递减法的影响。当许多早期 MT 用户开始对其失去信心后,通过应用神经网络概念,机器翻译出现了质的飞跃。神经机器翻译(NMT)在市场上隆重亮相。较此前的技术而言,NMT 能够以更为和谐的方式组合语言,因而更具竞争优势。另一项重大优势在于 NMT 打破了此前存在的壁垒,使得各相关方均可采用。大部分“心理”转换成本均无需用户承担。用户开始享受更快捷、更具成本效益的解决方案所带来的良好“使用体验”。购买翻译服务的客户开始用难以想象的理由挑战其供应商:“机器翻译为我提供的译文与您所交付的译文质量相当,甚至更好。” 另一方面,译员也对自己从项目经理处获得的机器处理输出结果十分满意。

Trusted Translations 机器翻译引擎

机器翻译以先前译好的文本为基础,即通常所说的双语语料库。如运用此前的技术,在相对规模较大的语料库辅助下即可创建准确性极高的机器翻译引擎。随着 NMT 的进一步完善,高质量语料库成为了其中的关键所在。所用算法中不再需要的大量翻译单元已不再是区分质量高低的实际要素。总之,MT 的民主化将持续存在。

Trusted Translations 可为您提供基于神经 MT 的定制化引擎,从而可在通用神经 MT 无法满足您的要求时提供替代方案。尽管如此,我们的专家仍将帮助您先行确定 MT 解决方案是否可行。接下来,我们将帮助您确定在这两种主要解决方案中(基于通用机器翻译引擎(GMTE)的通用机器翻译解决方案与基于定制化机器方案引擎(CMTE)的定制化机器翻译解决方案),究竟哪种更为符合您的全球化战略。

GNMTE 与 CNMTE 的主要区别在于前者通常是“现成”的产品,而非针对特定客户的定制化产品,后者则是针对特定客户构建的定制化引擎。无论采用哪种引擎,均可通过人工译后编辑与后续审校提高其质量。但是,定制机器翻译解决方案可以基于客户具体需求与内容使翻译引擎本身更加智能化。一般情况下,根据特定客户的要求,可运用翻译记忆库服务器对通用机器翻译解决方案进行改良,但仍无法与经过训练的定制化引擎相较。

我们会根据客户目标确定最佳方法、打造计划并从始至终地为您提供 MT 解决方案。全球范围内了解该技术的公司屈指可数,Trusted Translations 便是其中之一。而且,Trusted Translations 具备能力来实施生成高质量机器翻译的解决方案,且可以融合人工定制及译后编辑。请联系我们进行免费评估,以判断您的项目是否适合采用 MT 解决方案。

翻译记忆库服务器与通用机器翻译引擎

如上所述,与高质量的定制化神经 MT 引擎相比,将翻译记忆库服务器与通用神经 MT 引擎相集成,可创造更简单、成本更低的解决方案。通过将翻译记忆库服务器与适用的翻译记忆库相集成,即可实现该种解决方案。“翻译记忆库服务器”(TMS)是指存储翻译记忆库的服务器,其他译员也可以对其进行访问。该服务器将翻译记忆库进行集中存储,人工译员可以借此访问过去的翻译,且在某些情况下可以对翻译记忆库进行修订和改善。请勿将 TMS 与通用神经机器翻译引擎(GNMTE)相混淆。它们是两种不同的工具,可单独使用亦可结合使用。

由于仅由 GNMTE 生成的译文对于某些特定主题不具可靠性(即使进行人工编辑),我们建议将翻译记忆库服务器集成至工作流,以提高译文质量。Trusted Translations 的工作团队具有丰富的行业经验,可以在为您提供通用神经 MT 解决方案时,轻松为您实施其中包含的翻译记忆库,并对翻译记忆库服务器进行管理。

Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Machine Translation Services

Machine translation (MT) involves the use of computers and software programs to automatically generate a translated output. There is no point in arguing whether human parity has already been reached. The truth is that this technology has evolved to a point where, under the right conditions, it can be a valuable asset and a powerful tool.

Trusted Translations has specialized teams dedicated to implementing different types of machine translation solutions. Our teams are on the cutting edge of new MT technology and understand exactly how to integrate MT solutions with other translation tools, as well as human post-editing and further reviewing services. By thoroughly understanding the benefits and limitations of the latest MT technology, we are able to determine whether MT can be effectively used in a particular situation.

Our experts act as consultants to evaluate whether an MT solution is right for a particular client, domain and project scope. After following a few steps that may involve sample testing, and once both the client and our experts have determined that an MT solution works, our teams will start working to design the right workflow and technology to be implemented. This initial effort is well worth the investment, for it will ensure the maximization of our client’s ROI while producing the highest quality output adapted to the end-user’s needs.

For valued recurrent clients that need to frequently process high-volume content, our teams will further analyze all stages to implement the best MT service offer. This includes an analysis in the medium and long term in order to ensure that our client’s goals are being met at every stage during that implementation. In other words, different stages may require a different set of tools to achieve the optimal level of consistency and reliability. For example, an earlier stage may require the use of more human translators to train the engine while later stages can be managed with a more simple Quality Control (QC) process (e.g., by specifically checking terminology or running a spell and grammar check).

Neural Machine Translation

MT solutions were historically built on two basic and distinct models: rule-based and statistical. Developments in MT followed a logical path. At first, experts in the budding science of computational linguistics considered grammar rules to be the foundation for working with corpora. A few years later, statistics and statistical models started to creep in. Next came the merging of both concepts into hybrid (rule-based and statistical) models.

The law of diminishing returns in place began to be reflected in small, incremental improvements. When many of the early MT users were starting to lose faith, a quantum leap was achieved with the application of neural network concepts. Neural Machine Translation (NMT) made a stellar intro in the market. NMT showed a competitive edge when demonstrating that all combinations of languages were working much better compared with the old technologies. Another extraordinary benefit was that it broke down the wall that prevented adoption for all players in the game. That “psychological” switching cost was covered in large part. Users started relishing the “usability” of a faster and more cost-effective solution. Clients buying translation services started challenging their suppliers with an unbelievable claim: “machine translation is providing me with the same, or even better quality than you’ve delivered.” And, on the other end, linguists started praising the machine output they were receiving for processing from their project managers.

Trusted Translations Machine Translation Engines

Machine translations are based on previously translated text commonly referred to as bilingual text corpora. For older technologies, a sufficiently large corpora helped build a machine translation engine that could be used with impressive accuracy. With the advent of NMT, high-quality corpora is what really matters. Large volumes of translation units are no longer needed for algorithms used are no longer the actual differentiators. In summary, democratization of MT is here to stay.

Trusted Translations has the capabilities to offer you a customized Neural MT-based engine in case a general domain Neural MT one would not suit your needs. Nonetheless, our experts will help you first determine whether an MT solution is a viable path or not. Next, we will help you define which of those two main kinds—a General Domain Neural Machine Translation solution based on the use of a General Machine Translation Engine (GMTE), or a Customized Machine Translation solution based on a Custom Machine Translation Engine (CMTE)—is what you need for your globalization strategy.

The main difference between a GNMTE and a CNMTE is that a GNMTE is usually an “off-the-shelf” engine not customized for a specific client’s needs, while a CNMTE is a customized engine built and tailored for a specific client. Both options can be complemented with human post-editing and even further review steps to improve quality. However, a customized machine translation solution allows for the engine itself to become more intelligent over time, based on the specific needs and content of the client. General machine translation solutions can normally be somewhat improved for a specific client by being supplemented with the use of a translation memory server, but never at the same level as when training customized engines.

Based on our client’s goals, we will determine the best approach, create a plan, and implement the MT solution from A to Z. Trusted Translations is one of the few companies in the world that understands this technology and has the knowledge to implement a solution that produces high-quality machine translations to improve overtime with human customization and post-editing. Contact us today for a free evaluation of whether your project is right for an MT solution.

Translation Memory Servers and General Domain MT Engines

As touched on above, Translation Memory Servers combined with General Domain Neural MT Engines can make a simpler and lower-cost solution compared to a high-quality and Customized Neural MT one. This is accomplished by integrating a Translation Memory Server with the appropriate translation memory. A “Translation Memory Server” (TMS) refers to a server where translation memories are stored and can be accessed by other translators. The server houses the translation memory in a centralized location, allowing human translators access to past translations, and in some cases granting them the ability to modify and improve the translation memory. A TMS should not be confused with a General Domain Neural Machine Translation Engine (GNMTE). These are two separate tools that can be combined or used separately.

As the results from GNMTEs alone are generally not as reliable for a specific subject matter (even with human editing), we often recommend integrating a Translation Memory Server into the workflow to improve the quality of the output. Trusted Translations has one of the most experienced teams in the industry when it comes to implementing translation memories and managing translation memory servers as part of a General Domain Neural MT solution.