Home » 语言 » 西班牙语 » 西班牙特征 » 美式西班牙语

美式西班牙语

鉴于其规模和巨大的购买力,美国西班牙裔市场提供了一个不容忽视的机会。在这个市场上取得成功需要了解美国西班牙语的方方面面。

没有公司会使用来自英国、加拿大或澳大利亚的特定文化内容来定位美国人。为什么适合美国西班牙裔市场的西班牙语应该有所不同,特别是考虑到这个市场的规模和购买力方面的重要性?

根据最近的研究,88% 的美国西班牙裔表示,他们重视使用西班牙语与他们交流的企业,87% 的人认为真诚地努力投资于他们社区的企业值得他们的忠诚度。为了成为这些企业中的一员并在美国西班牙裔市场取得成功,您需要可以直接与该受众对话的翻译。

西裔西班牙语

从历史和语言的角度来看,“西班牙裔”是什么意思?该词于 1980 年由美国人口普查首次普及,用于对居住在美国的拉丁美洲人进行分类。更具体地说,人口普查试图对“自称具有西班牙语背景并溯源自或来自墨西哥、波多黎各、古巴、中美洲、南美洲以及其他西班牙语国家的美国人”进行分类。

由于拉丁美洲西班牙人群与来自西班牙的西班牙人有很大不同,该人群已在使用一种具有其独特特征的西班牙语。从那时起,“西班牙裔”西班牙语已成为拉丁美洲 20 多个国家方言和文化的总称。

西班牙裔或拉丁裔?

您可能还听说过讲西班牙语的美国人使用“Latino 或 Latina”来形容自己。虽然有些人互换使用“西班牙裔”和“拉丁裔”,但“西班牙裔”通常定义来自西班牙语国家的人,而“拉丁裔”定义来自拉丁美洲国家的人(而非来自西班牙,且不一定是讲西班牙语的人)。即使您着眼于美国西班牙裔市场,了解这些用语的演变和变化至关重要。

您是否了解?
88% 的美国西班牙裔人重视用西班牙语与他们交流的企业。
您是否了解?
根据一些预测,到 2050 年,美国每 3 人中就有 1 人会说西班牙语。
您是否了解?
美式西班牙语包括许多来自英语媒体和流行文化的外来词。
您是否了解?
西班牙市场对翻译地道的网站做出回应的可能性要高十倍。
您是否了解?
您是否了解?

美国的西班牙语

讲西班牙语的美国人口已经远远超过来自拉丁美洲的第一代移民。根据美国人口普查局 2020 年的一项调查,超过 13.2% 的美国人在家里说西班牙语,即超过 4180 万的五岁或五岁以上人群。到 2050 年,预计美国三分之一的人会说西班牙语。从文化的角度来看,西班牙语仍然是与美国交流的重要形式,包括对非西班牙裔和可能终生都生活在美国的人来说。

美式西班牙裔西班牙语与拉丁美洲西班牙语一样,在几个方面与欧洲(西班牙)西班牙语不同。例如,美式西班牙语使用者不使用第二人称复数 vosotros;他们更喜欢简单过去而不是现在完成时;并且该语言受到英语的强烈影响。

然而,美式西班牙语也受到媒体来源的强烈影响——不仅是传统的美国英语媒体,还有领先的西班牙语媒体公司,如 Univision 和 Telemundo。美式西班牙语也表现出高度的混合和方言差异,特别是在大城市,讲西班牙语的不同移民群体之间有很多接触。

在针对西班牙裔市场进行翻译时,需要考虑所有这些因素。简而言之,尝试将面向西班牙语(即西班牙)市场的内容应用于西班牙裔消费者,而不是根据他们的独特需求定制贵方材料,这将是一个严重的营销错误。 

走向美国西班牙裔市场

有时有必要进一步本地化您的内容以针对美国的特定区域讲西班牙语的人口。

来自拉丁美洲背景的人群在美国各地的流动和集中一直是复杂多样的,其拒绝“一刀切”的方法。例如,居住在洛杉矶的西班牙语使用者受墨西哥影响更大,而纽约市的许多西班牙语使用者都有波多黎各的血统。同样,在像迈阿密这样的大城市,那里 90% 的西班牙裔美国人在家讲西班牙语,其广告方式必定与在小城镇或农村/郊区的广告方式不同。

此外,对于您的翻译项目,最好与了解美国西班牙裔特有趋势动向的团队合作。例如,西班牙裔消费者处于数字增长和移动优先市场的最前沿,在智能手机拥有量和社交媒体使用方面超过其他人群。与非西班牙裔相比,他们的购买决定也更有可能受到家庭的影响。

高质量西班牙语翻译的需求

西班牙语翻译不再是“可有可无”,而是必备。毕竟,对于数百万讲西班牙语的美国人口来说,准确的西班牙语翻译不仅在他们的日常生活中发挥着至关重要的作用,而且在安全、健康、法律、公共服务和政府相关通信方面也发挥着至关重要的作用。事实上,在某些情况下,例如急诊室中,正确的翻译可能意味着生死之别。

Trusted Translations,我们的专业西班牙语译员随时准备帮助您了解在美国西班牙裔市场取得成功所必需的趋势和语言微妙之处。联系我们以了解更多关于我们的西班牙语翻译服务的信息。

US Spanish

Home » Languages » Spanish » Spanish Characteristics » US Spanish

U.S. Spanish

Given its size and enormous buying power, the U.S. Hispanic market presents an opportunity that can’t be ignored. Success in this market requires understanding the ins and outs of the Spanish language in the U.S.

No company would use culturally specific content from England, Canada, or Australia to target Americans. Why should Spanish for the U.S. Hispanic market be any different, especially given this market’s size and importance in terms of purchasing power?

According to recent studies, 88% of U.S. Hispanics say they appreciate businesses that speak to them in Spanish, and 87% feel businesses that make a sincere effort to invest in their communities deserve their loyalty. In order to be among these businesses and find success in the U.S. Hispanic market, you need translations that can speak to this audience directly.

Hispanic Spanish

What does “Hispanic” mean from a historical and language perspective? The term was first popularized in 1980 by the U.S. Census, which used it in an attempt to classify Latin Americans living in the United States. More specifically, the census sought to classify “Americans who identify themselves as being of Spanish-speaking background and trace their origin or descent from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, Central and South America, and other Spanish-speaking countries.”

Because Latin American Spanish is very different from Spanish from Spain, this demographic was already speaking a form of Spanish with its own unique characteristics. Since then, “Hispanic” Spanish has become an umbrella term for a mix of dialects and cultures from over 20 countries in Latin America.

Hispanic or Latino?

You may also have heard Spanish-speaking Americans use “Latino or Latina” to describe themselves. While some use “Hispanic” and “Latino/a” interchangeably, “Hispanic” generally defines people who originate from Spanish-speaking countries, while “Latino” defines people originating from Latin American countries (but not from Spain, and not necessarily Spanish speakers). Even if you concentrate on the U.S. Hispanic market, it’s essential to remain aware of how these terms evolve and change.

Did You Know?
88% of U.S. Hispanics appreciate businesses that speak to them in Spanish.
Did You Know?
According to some predictions, by 2050, 1 out of 3 people in the U.S. will speak Spanish.
Did You Know?
U.S. Spanish includes many loanwords from English media and pop culture.
Did You Know?
The Spanish market is ten times more likely to respond to a well-translated site.
Did You Know?

Spanish Language in the U.S.

The population of Spanish speakers in the U.S. has grown far beyond first-generation immigrants from across Latin America. Based on a 2020 survey by the U.S. Census Bureau, over 13.2 percent of people in the U.S. speak Spanish at home—that’s over 41.8 million people aged five or older. By 2050, it’s predicted that one in three people in the U.S. will speak Spanish. From a cultural standpoint, the Spanish language continues to be an essential form of communication with the U.S., including for non-Hispanics and for those that may have lived in the United States their entire life.

U.S. Hispanic Spanish, like Latin American Spanish, diverges from European (Spain) Spanish in several ways. For example, U.S. Spanish speakers don’t use the second person plural vosotros; they prefer the simple past to the present perfect tense; and the language is strongly influenced by English.

However, U.S. Spanish is also strongly influenced by media sources—not just traditional U.S. media in English, but also by leading Spanish language media companies, such as Univision and Telemundo. U.S. Spanish also shows a high level of mixing and dialect variation, especially in major cities with a lot of contact between different groups of Spanish-speaking immigrants.

All these considerations need to be taken into account when translating for the Hispanic market. Put simply, it would be a grave marketing mistake to try to apply content for the Spanish (that is, Spain) market to Hispanic consumers rather than tailoring your material to their distinctive needs.  

Reaching the U.S. Hispanic Market

It’s sometimes necessary to localize your content even further in order to address a particular region of the U.S. Spanish-speaking population.

The movement and concentration of people from Latin American backgrounds across the U.S. has been complex and diverse, rejecting a “one size fits all” approach. For example, Spanish speakers living in Los Angeles have a stronger Mexican influence, while many Spanish speakers in New York City have their roots in Puerto Rico. Similarly, an advertising approach in major cities like Miami, where 90% of Hispanics speak Spanish at home, must be different from that in smaller towns or rural/suburban areas.

Furthermore, for your translation projects, it’s best to work with a team that has its finger on the pulse of U.S. Hispanic-specific trends. For instance, Hispanic consumers are at the forefront of digital growth and a mobile-first market, outpacing other demographics in smartphone ownership and at the forefront of social media usage. They’re also more likely than non-Hispanics to have their buying decisions influenced by family.

The Need for Quality Spanish Translations

Spanish translation is no longer a “nice to have”—it’s a must-have. After all, for the millions of Spanish speakers in the U.S., accurate Spanish translations play a critical role not only in their daily lives, but also in safety, health, legal, public service, and government-related communications. Indeed, in some instances—such as the emergency room—correct translations can mean the difference between life and death.

At Trusted Translations, our expert Spanish language translators are ready to help you understand the trends and linguistic subtleties necessary for success in the U.S. Hispanic market. Contact us to learn more about our Spanish translation services.